The Mad (Genius) One

I would never in this world believe that I would get to see mad King Ludwig’s Neuschwanstein dream Castle that sits amid the bavarian mountains looking over the beautiful town of Hohenschwangau. But this Summer I did, I made it! and it was no easy feet. This spectacular sight is the ‘mad’ creation of one king whom had a grand plan for his real estate, some of which may not have panned out well however, I do have to take my hat off to him because this castle is a true phenomenon for the eyes. I never would have believed as a child I would get to witness the castle in which Walt Disney fashioned that of Sleeping Beauty’s. Evidently this sight has been an inspiration to many over the years since it’s erection was completed (but not finished) in 1892.IMG_3608

The day started so early and with a few breathless moments (like the fact I had to run a kilometre for the train in 10 mins which if you know me isn’t an easy feet). Three trains later I was off to my dream castle and the tiny picturesque village it overlooked. Another fairytale was approaching and I got a little excited. Riding the train through the Bavarian mountains is a moment that will forever be fondly at the forefront of my most precious memories. The sheer paint on canvas like scenery was something that could only be best seen through your own eyes, no amount of pictures would ever suffice.

IMG_3610 IMG_3611 IMG_3614

Stepping off of the small platform into the wooden cabin disguised as the ‘station’ had me grinning from ear to ear, it was the stuff of tales. I have to say that even though it was the middle of August stepping into Füssen station once again felt like a leap back in time to a grander era with an icier climate as I immediately felt the temperature drop around ten degrees, which was the coldest I had been in a long while. I however, advise you to go extremely early if you have a return train to catch. Unfortunately because this is one of Bavaria’s main tourist attractions the waiting time for a guided tour was a good 5 hours which meant a trip inside to see the decor was not on the cards for us. Nevertheless, that doesn’t stop the Baggott sisters from climbing that MOUNTAIN up to the castle just to get close to the magic. Rain began to creep over the cloud soaked mountains and it was time to find shelter which came in the form of a quaint little café where they sold perhaps the best doughnut type treat I have ever had quarkbällchen (try them!!).

IMG_3629 IMG_3631 IMG_3647 IMG_3641

Half an hour later I found myself amidst a dense forest where we had wandered aimlessly in way of finding a “Shortcut” hmmm well… we’ll move on. After stuffing ourselves with German delicacies such as currywurst it was time to head back to Munich (sad moment it was all over) and onto the next adventure.

IMG_3654 IMG_3675 IMG_3680

(All photographs are my own, copyright of Jasmine Baggott)

Leave a Reply

